Nine weeks later and starting over

In the distance

It took just 9 weeks for the CML to start reproducing while I was on the medication “holiday.” If I was close to remission, it is now back in the distant horizon. It took just a few weeks time to erase several months of gains. I feel as if I am starting over. I’m not all the way back to the beginning – maybe 10 steps forward and 3 steps back. Still, it’s a good reminder of the reason why I (and others with CML) must take the medication daily … probably for the rest of our lives. It’s the only thing, short of a bone marrow transplant that will keep the CML under control.

I received the Sprycel today. My cost: $13.33. Insurance: $8,000. Quite a bargain. Today I am especially grateful for insurance. So, I start the medication tomorrow (Saturday, May 28th). Here’s to new beginnings. Cheers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Nine weeks later and starting over

  1. Trevor Kwan says:

    It sucks that stuff like this doesn’t just go away, and that our bodies can’t deal with it. I stopped taking my thyroid medication in 2009, and by 2011, my thyroid was going completely bonkers.

    I hope the sprycel works wonders!

Leave a comment